Dominant India Look To Bag Series Win Over England

| July 6 , 2018 , 15:24 IST

The Indian cricket team started their England tour on a high note, with an emphatic win in the 1st match of the 3 match  T20 International series. The dominant visitor will now look to win the series when the two sides clash in the second T20I at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on 6th July.

England failed to solve spinner Kuldeep Yadav’s mystery bowling when they batted and were stomped down by KL Rahul’s blistering form when they came into bowl.

Heading towards 2nd T20I at Cardiff, the English team would be eager to bounce back and save the series. But Virat Kohli and Co. would look to seal the series as soon as possible, which will further give a chance to test the bench in the 3rd and last T20I.

If India manages to win the series on Friday it would be their sixth successive T20I series win. India has been unbeaten in any bilateral T20I series since September 2017.   

A loss on Friday will see England drop down to rank seven below New Zealand, South Africa, and West Indies, respectively.

Due to lack of wrist spinner the English camp had decided to deploy the services of spin-bowling machine 'Merlyn' at Cardiff. An English team last used it ahead of the 2005 Ashes.

The squads are as follows:

India: Virat Kohli(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar.

England: Eoin Morgan(c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Dawid Malan.

India vs England 2nd T20I match begins at 10:00 PM IST. The toss will take place at 9:30 PM IST. The coverage on the broadcasting channel will begin from 9:00 PM IST