Renowned Journalist Rajat Sharma Elected DDCA President

| July 2 , 2018 , 14:40 IST

Eminent journalist Rajat Sharma has been elected as the President of Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA). He won the election with 54.40% votes in the election that took place between June 27-30 and the results were declared on Monday. He defeated former cricketer Madan Lal.

Rakesh Bansal has been elected as Vice President with 48.87% votes in his favour defeating his rival Arvinder Singh Lovely.


Rajat Sharma is the Chairman and Chief Editor of Hindi news channel INDIA TV. He had submitted his name for the post on May 16. 

A total of 2,791 DDCA members out of the 3,828 eligible voters casts their votes.

The Padma Bhushan award holder, Rajat Sharma promised to bring in transparency and accountability in the state association after his team's 12-0 clean sweep in the DDCA elections. 

ALSO READ:  DDCA Gets Relief, Feroz Shah Kotla To Hold Fourth India Vs South Africa Test Match

Sharma took on Twitter to thank all the members for their support and wrote, "I thank all members of DDCA who voted in the elections and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the members to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of DDCA."  

Meanwhile, Vinod Tihara has been elected as Secretary, Om Prakash Sharma will take on the responsibility of the treasury and Rajan Manchanda is the Joint Secretary.

Apart from them, Renu Khanna has been elected as Director Woman. Apurv Jain, Alok Mittal, Nitin Gupta, Shivnandan Sharma, CA Sudhir Kumar Aggarwal are in the list of  Directors.